Saturday, April 28, 2007

Department of Economics at LSE - EFM

The Department of Economics at the LSE is one of the largest economics departments in the world, with over 50 faculty and 1000 students. The size of the Department ensures that all mainstream areas of economics are strongly represented in research and teaching.

We are a leading research department, consistently being ranked in the top 20 economics departments worldwide. In the 2001 UK Research Assessment Exercise, the Department was one of only four economics departments awarded the highest possible grading. Faculty are also active as policy advisors to governmental bodies and as editors for leading economics journals.

Nine former members of staff or students have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics (Sir John Hicks, 1972; Friedrich von Hayek, 1974; James Meade, 1977; Sir Arthur Lewis, 1979; Merton Miller, 1990; Ronald Coase, 1991; Amartya Sen, 1998; Robert Mundell 1999, George Akerlof, 2001). Former students are employed as economists in a wide range of national and international organisations, in government, international institutions, business and finance.

There is a cosmopolitan feel to the Department; well over half the members of staff were born or educated outside the UK, and nearly three-quarters of students come from overseas. The Department offers a range of Bachelors and Masters degrees, as well as a structured doctoral training in economics. The Department was recently awarded a rating of 23 points out of 24 for the quality of our teaching programmes by UK Quality Assurance Agency.


Fort Minor

Believe Me,


Remember the Name,

Where'd You Go